Mania Review

Weekly Book Buzz, Tuesday, October 3, 2006

Map of Dreams
M. Rickert, Golden Gryphon Press

Set in a reality where nightmares do not fade upon waking, this anthology skims along the surface of life and dips just beneath, revealing the hidden machinations that fuel dreams. These underlying myths and fantasies exist not as musty old stories but as ancient truths that have come to illuminate the modern human condition. The title story touches on themes of grief, redemption, and time travel; "Cold Fire" ventures into love and obsession; and "Peace on Suburbia" introduces readers to a Christmas with an entirely different kind of savior. These and other tales are framed by four interludes — Dreams, Nightmares, Waking, and Rising — that guide readers through a world that is at once familiar and eerily off-kilter. An interesting approach to the nature of sleep and dreaming, this anthology may be worth a peek with such a solid author. M. Rickert, anthologized in several Year's Best Science Fiction and Fantasy collections, delivers another 13 tales that will at the least be entertaining and insightful.

— Pat Ferrara, Columnist, Mania: Beyond Entertainment


Home | About GGP | Catalog | Forthcoming | Calendar | Order | Contact Us